Ernest Hartnagle Memorial


In 2020 ASCA began offering the Ernest Hartnagle Memorial Icon Award. The award is named for one of the founding members of ASCA, Mr. Ernest Hartnagle of Las Rocosa Australian Shepherds, and was created by a group of his friends. Throughout his life, Ernie supported the breed with his service on the ASCA Board, his participation in ASCA programs, and his years as an ASCA Conformation and Stockdog Judge, along with many speaking engagements at the ASCA Nationals along and historical articles in the Aussie Times. Ernie always had wise words to share regarding the breed’s past and future.

The purpose of the award is to honor individuals, clubs, or groups that have dedicated part of their lives to preserving the history of the breed, mentoring others, and/or sharing the rich history that demonstrates the value of our wonderful breed.

The award consists of a specially designed lapel/hat pin, a Spider Web scroll, and a certificate. A nameplate for the recipient will be placed on a fixed trophy/wall plaque located at the ASCA Business Office.

In order to nominate someone for this award, you must send a nomination form and letter of recommendation to to be shared with the selection committee. The deadline for nominations for the award is July 31 each year.

Ernest Hartnagle Award Application

Donations to the Ernest Hartnagle Memorial Icon Award Fund are encouraged to preserve his memory and to support the award so that it can be presented each year to deserving individuals or clubs. This memorial award is intended to carry on Mr. Hartnagle’s dedication to breed preservation through these very same efforts.

Past award recipients:
2021 – Michelle Berryessa, Sherry Baker, Dana Mackenzie, Terry Martin, The Australian Shepherd Health & Genetics Institute (ASHGI)

Founding members of the committee to create this award:
Ann B. DeChant
Tanya L Wheeler
Bill Van Hecke
Lynn Hamon
Michael Ryan
Peter Kontos
Robbi Norman
Steve Shope
Sunday Miles